The flat, the upright and the ugly – Spoon and Ladle Rests

We all had that problem. Dirty spoons, turners, ladles and things just don’t store well in the pot or pan while cooking. Some burn, sometimes they prevent the lid to close, they drip, they make things messy, but we want to keep them close by and not put them in the sink to clean just yet. One day, it annoyed me a little too much and I started searching the all-knowing web. On that note, this was my search and my thoughts about the products. I have no contact to those companies, nor do I benefit in any way from this. I do it for the fun and to support people finding their solutions for kitchen problems!

Spoon rests have been around for a while and the idea is reasonably useful, however, most of these are flat and use up a lot of space. They often only provide room for one or two spoons, which is a problem in itself because I don’t want the vanilla-pudding to mix with the pasta sauce. Another problem is that ladles and turners  will often fall off, if their handle is too heavy (I often found this with teflon-friendly plastic stuff) and long and the rest doesn’t support them over most of their length. So I went searching.

Initially, as I always do, I look at what comes up on the all-knowing web if I search for the general item. My requirements were: minimal space requirement, solve the problem of storing multiple dirty kitchen tools at once, easy clean, simple design (for easy cleaning and I like it) and I possibly like more than one for several spoons or so that one can be dirty the other one clean.

Maxwell & Williams Spoon Rest

Maxwell & Williams Spoon Rest

Some of the rests are quite decorative, but especially the flat models just don’t justify the space they use. One example is from Maxwell and Williams. I have some really good products from them, but their spoon rest didn’t find my liking. Too much space requirement, I feared the ladle would fall off or the bottom part lift up and drip all over the place and it looked suspiciously like not enough room for a large ladle.

Keith Brymer Jones Spoon Rest

Keith Brymer Jones Spoon Rest

So I bought one from Keith Brymer Jones instead, which lets you rest your spoon upright-ish and occupies less space. I liked the simplicity of the design (that’s my personal taste), the fact that it looked easy-clean and that it was a reasonable price. Unfortunately, the elevated part of the rest isn’t long/high enough to keep my turners and ladles from lifting up and splashing the tomato all over the place – it really is good for spoons, but nothing bigger, thus a less fastidious friend got a welcome surprise present.

Joseph & Joseph Elevate Range

Joseph & Joseph Elevate Range

Joseph & Joseph, among others, also have some rather clever solutions. They offer a range of kitchen tools called “Elevate” with a little raiser built-in. It probably allows you to rest the item on the side of the pot as well as keeping the bottom part from resting on the workbench. However, it does not solve the problem of dripping sauce on the bench, so I kept on looking. Joseph & Joseph also have a functional and easy to clean “SpoonBase”.

Joseph & Joseph SpoonBase

Joseph & Joseph SpoonBase

I bought this “SpoonBase” and tried it out and it works nicely for wooden spoons and tablespoons, has a heavy bottom to keep it from tumbling over, thumbs up for that. However, teaspoons for tasting are too short to sit in it, turners too wide and no ladle fits in, plus there is only room for one spoon either. So another friend will get a hopefully welcome surprise present (sending them back is too expensive).

Curtis Stone Keep It Clean spoon rest

Curtis Stone Keep It Clean spoon rest

I looked into some other solutions and found Curtis Stone. Their “Keep It Clean” spoon rest looked promising, but I read it is lightweight and can only be used with water in the base (to weigh it down and keep the tool clean). Unfortunately, I don’t necessarily want my tools to drip water into hot oil, also it was rather space-consuming overall. Several reviews said it was great for the spoon it came with, but not other ladles, turners or even spoons would fit. So I dropped this one from my list.

My spoon and ladle rests.

My current spoon and ladle rests.

At the moment, I am simply using a large ceramic storage jar without lid and two large panna cotta molds, which I got on sale. The large ceramic jar is brilliant for ladles and turners. I have two and thus I can store utensils for two  separate pots or pans. However, while the panna cotta molds are good for tea and table spoons, the are of shiny polished metal and keeping them shiny is annoying me, plus they started rusting a little sitting close to the stove, where water often spills during cooking.

 Bendigo Pottery Spoon Holder

Bendigo Pottery Spoon Holder

Luckily, I recently visited friends and found this little gem. It is a really nice spoon rest from the Australian Bendigo Pottery. I tried it out and it works for teaspoons, tablespoons and large wooden spoons, but most likely not for large ladles and turners. I’ll get two of them and I should be set for future cooking!

Hoping this may help some people on the webs!

Leave a Reply

