Your Ideas? Pumpkin-Zucchini Did-Not-Turn-Out-Fritters

It’s summer and the first pumpkin in the garden has grown enough to make something out of it. I never grew pumpkins before, generally they are not a main staple for me, but I gave it a go this summer. Also the pumpkin-mix-seed sachet is nowhere to be found, so I wasn’t quite sure which variety it is and when it was ripe. Taking chances, I just cut it off the vine and tasted it and to my absolute surprise, it actually tasted like zucchini. WONDERFUL! It doesn’t really leave me in trouble, but being a rather large amount of ‘zucchini’, I thought of my last post on patties/fritters using oats and cheese. Shredding the pumpkin/zucchini, I added cheese, eggs, oats and some herbs and spices. The taste is great, but probably due to the characteristics of cheese and the pumpkin, they did not turn into patties, but stayed melty-soft. Softe enough that I ended up scrambling them, rather than coming out with patties. So – being a lovely taste, what else could I do with it?


Recipe: Pumpkin goes Zucchini – No Fritters

With a lovely taste, these fritters that just didn’t turn into fritters. So I’d love some suggestions for this ingredient combination. I will certainly work on this myself as well and update the page when I find new things.

Serves >4 (??? – in development)

Preparation: 10 min
Cooking: 10 min

  • Chopping boards and knives
  • Grater or food processor with grater balde (what I use)
  • Small food processor (or upscale) (what I use)
    If you have neither, try getting the nuts as ground meal
  • Bowl
  • Pan

Ingredients

  • 750 g pumpkin/zucchini, grated
  • 3 eggs
  • 100 g cashews, salted, ground
  • 100 g cheese mix, grated
  • 100 g grana padano, grated
  • 100 g quick oats
  • 1 tsp paprika, sweet, hungarian style
  • 1 tsp salt

Procedure

  1. Grate the pumpkin on a hand grater or food processor.
  2. Process the cashews to a powder or paste.
  3. Put pumpkin and cashews, as well as all the other ingredients into a bowl and mix until homogenously mixed.
  4. Now – well – don’t fry them in a pan to get fritters, but what to do?

Highly appreciate ideas. The consistency fried is somewhat like fried eggs, hardening when getting cooler. I was thinking along the lines of chicken stuffing, a crust or cover to cook fish in? As a gratin? Just not sure, but it’s just too nice to just drop…

Leave a Reply

